TalkAwhile - The Folk Corporation Forum
April 26, 2024, 10:15:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Fairport live tapes  (Read 11222 times)
koho (Koen)
Can be! Not will be!

Loc: Zaandam, The Netherlands

« on: August 15, 2017, 08:04:08 PM »

Back in the old days - old being relative, but say late 80s till mid 90s - I was an avid tape trader, tapes as in the old C90s. I used to collect the wider Byrds family, also Neil Young - and a third (pretty much main) portion was Fairport & family. The tapes were the source of many a Listmember CD way back, the first 10ish of volumes I compiled, which were a result of the old Fairport mailing list.
Anyway, you move on. Tape interest stopped. I think the most recent tape will be 1995-ish. Long ago I sold the Byrds and Young collection. Now the Fairport collection is gathering dust in the attic of my Mum and every now and again she says "what do you want to do with them?". Well - nothing, I can't play tapes anymore and actually have no huge interest in the umpteenth version of Sloth and Matty Groves. But throw away? Naah!
I have no way of telling in what state they are. Maybe they are unplayable. They haven't been played in 15-20 years, some longer than that. I don't know what happenes with old tapes - Maxell's, TDK - do they degenerate? Some old tapes have since been released as proper CDs like BBC sessions. I don't even know how many there are. Possibly 100s. Would there be any interest out there? Tapes are labelled and tracklisted. Not just Fairport. Lots of RT. Lots of Albion. Sandy. Dave Pegg's Cocktail Cowboys on tour! Swarb. Whippersnapper. And: Whetstone Nicol & Mattacks.