TalkAwhile - The Folk Corporation Forum
May 04, 2024, 11:11:27 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Fairport & Osibisa  (Read 4362 times)
K.T.
n3wb

Loc: Norway

« on: May 23, 2009, 06:45:44 PM »

Hi !

Not quite young these days, but still a few months away from turning 50, I experienced the joys of the Babacombe Lee album in 1972.  I guess it was 'The Hanging Song' and 'John Lee' that spawned my attention for Fairport. Now, even a year before that, I stumbled upon a very unfamiliar drum-pattern known as 'Criss Cross Rhytms That Explode With Happiness' aka Osibisa.
To make a long story short, I got the 'Music For Gong Gong' single in 1971 and has been a avid Osibisa fan ever since.  When they turned up at Fairports 30th. anniversary in Cropredy, I was stunned.  Being a drummer myself, this was the missing link to a 30th. celebration of Fairport Convention (thank you..!)
This was my second Osibisa gig (the first in Oslo 1994, but here they were - invited by my favourite band...!!)

Going a bit further in time, their gig at Cropredy was released on cd, and even documented in Ken Russell's film 'In Search Of The English Folksong'.
Me?? I tried to get the album from Amazon and the lot.  I even tried to get it from Teddy Osei & the guys in the band - and Flying Elephants, but no...

Everywhere I go, the Osibisa 'Live At Cropredy' cd is deleted..... everywhere... Undecided

So, I'm turning my rhytmic back to you, dear fellows,

Can anyone help me find back to the grooves of Osibisa that glorious day in the Cropredy field in 1997 ?? Roll Eyes

Best,
KT

peterwales
a lot more rugged and a lot less "twee"
Folkcorp Guru

Loc: Norfolk

Far from the Western Hills of Birth

« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2009, 08:06:18 PM »